The Danger of Listening to Common

For the mobile section of J2150, we had to cover an event of our choosing with only our phone. We had to take pictures and video, send tweets, record audio, and do two interviews with my iPhone. I chose to cover Greatness: An Evening With Common at the Missouri Theater. I figured it would be a cool event to cover. Common is a great artist, there were a lot of people excited about him coming, and there was nothing else going on that Wednesday night.

Little did I know what I was getting into…

After listening to Common, I have decided that I no longer want to be a journalist; I want to pursue a rap career.

Each thing common said was wiser than the last, and the evening was probably equal parts speech and applause. The danger of listening to Common is that he is too inspirational. He made me question a lot of my life decisions– mostly why am I just sitting here taking pictures with my phone and not rapping.

He opened up the evening by freestyling about Columbia and Mizzou. Then he told us about growing up on the South-side of Chicago. Then opened up to us about believing in ourselves and telling us we were all meant for something great. Then he took questions (and pictures) with the audience.

All in all, it was a great event, and Common seems like a great guy…

…I just wish he wouldn’t have made me question so many important things in one sitting.

Leave a Reply

